11 Players from AFC Ann Arbor Family Earn College Conference Championships


As the 2017 college soccer season begins to wind down, teams are wrapping (or have already finished) their regular season with conference champions being crowned across the country. Eleven players from the AFC Ann Arbor family representing four different Michigan schools have secured their conference championship. 

University of Michigan- Tristan Jacob ('15, '16 & '17), Noah Kleedtke ('16 & '17), Ryan Kobakof ('16 & '17) and Jack Hallahan ('17) 

Western Michigan University- Jake Rufe ('16 & '17), Ben Thornton ('17), Tommy Clark ('16) and Jay McIntosh ('15) 

Madonna University- Yuri Farkas ('16 & '17) and Hector Morales ('16 & '17)

Northwood University- James Vaughan ('16 & '17)


About AFC Ann Arbor

Association Football Club Ann Arbor (AFC Ann Arbor), Washtenaw County's only semi-pro soccer team, was founded in 2014 by local soccer fanatic, Jamey Amrine, with the goal of creating a community based club that would promote the game on a larger scale. 

After partnering with 8 local entrepreneurs and community members in early 2015 to form the AFC Ann Arbor Board of Directors, the club competed in the Great Lakes Premier League (now Premier League of America) during its inaugural campaign. The ownership group has expanded to 15, with 2 former professional athletes in that group including Knox Cameron (Columbus Crew) and Shane Battier (Miami Heat). 

After a successful first year, the club made two major moves in the off-season hiring Head Coach & Sporting Director, Eric Rudland, as well as joining the National Premier Soccer League (NPSL). 

In the club's inaugural NPSL season, they finished second in the Great Lakes west conference, and were one of sixteen teams (out of 90 + teams) to secure a playoff berth. 2017 was monumental year as the club won it's first playoff game, first conference championship and broke 12 club records. The club’s fourth season kicks off in May as The Mighty Oak look to continue their winning ways in 2018.